(Photo credits: Alexandre-Pierre Gaspar)
- The former Musée de Cluny, located in the Hôtel de Cluny and the Thermes de Cluny, hosts the famous fifteenth century tapestry cycle La Dame à la Licorne.
- Archaeologist passionate about the Middle Ages, Alexandre Du Sommerard bought the estate in 1833 to install his collection.
- The collection was eventually bought by the state and the building was opened as a museum in 1843.
- The Cluny museum is located in the neighborhood of the Sorbonne (5th arrondissement of Paris).